Skip to main content

Where to find Sage’s Wills in Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom

New in The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom are Sages, which serve as companions who help you throughout the game. These Sages offer different abilities that all have their own unique benefits. These Sage abilities can actually be upgraded by using Sage’s Wills, and in this guide, we’ll show you how these items work and how to find them in Tears of the Kingdom.

What are Sage’s Wills?

Sage's Will in The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom.

Sage’s Wills are upgrade materials used to strengthen your bond with Sages in Tears of the Kingdom. Once you find them, you can utilize four Sage’s Wills to upgrade the power and effectiveness of one of the game’s five Sages.

The five Sages are as follows:

  • Yunobo, Sage of Fire
  • Riju, Sage of Lightning
  • Tulin, Sage of Wind
  • Sidon, Sage of Water
  • The Fifth Sage (spoilers)

Note that the fifth Sage is a spoiler and is part of a somewhat tricky quest found later on in the game. We won’t spoil it here, though, but suffice it to say, we recommend unlocking this Sage.

Once you find four Sage’s Wills, you’ll need to take them to one of the game’s Goddess Statues and use them to upgrade one of the Sages. Pray at the Goddess Statue, and you’ll get to pick which Sage you’d like to upgrade. Keep in mind, each Sage requires four Sage’s Wills to be upgraded. You can upgrade any Sage at any time, so we recommend picking whichever one you like using the most. We’re partial to Yunobo, since its ability is powerful, allowing you to hurl a firey ball at your foes with high damage.

How to find Sage’s Wills

Link next to Sage in The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom.

But where exactly do you find the Sage’s Wills? So far, around 20 have been discovered, and you can find them in the Sky, all around the islands above. Much like the Korok Seeds, each Sage’s Will has a puzzle tied to it, and you’ll need to solve it to acquire the item. They’re scattered all around the Archipelagos, so be sure to look around and be thorough while exploring.

One thing to note is that — assuming there are only 20 Sage’s Wills — you’ll only be able to upgrade each of the Sage’s abilities once. Though, the attack power boost you gain from one upgrade is noticeable, so it’s absolutely worth finding as many Sage’s Wills as you can, so as to make some of the late-game battles easier.

Editors' Recommendations

Joseph Yaden
Joseph Yaden is a freelance journalist who covers loves Nintendo, shooters, and horror games. He mostly covers game guides…
Does Tears of the Kingdom have traditional Zelda dungeons?
Link stands in front of a large stone structure in The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom.

Before The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom's launch, there was one question that fans kept asking: Would the sequel bring back traditional Zelda dungeons? That was something that was sorely lacking from Breath of the Wild, which replaced them with Divine Beasts. These were technically dungeons, but ones that were much smaller in scope and revolved around specific puzzling.

Nintendo would alleviate some fears days ahead of its launch by confirming that more familiar dungeons return for the sequel, but we weren't given a full idea of what that would entail. All we knew is that they'd be bigger and be themed. So, does Tears of the Kingdom actually usher in the return of classic Zelda dungeons? It's complicated. The answer is firmly between yes and no, depending on your definition of "traditional."
What are traditional Zelda dungeons?
Let's answer a tricky question first: What do we even mean when we say "traditional Zelda dungeon." That question will net you very different answers depending on who you ask. When I conducted an informal poll on the subject on social media, I found that no two answers were exactly alike. For some, it was just about scale and theme. For others, it was more about using specific items to gradually open up a space.

Read more
Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom: how to open the Sahasra Slope Skyview Tower
A tower stands against a skyline in The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom.

As was the case in The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, the Hyrule map in Tears of the Kingdom will only be revealed by activating towers. There are 15 Skyview Towers located across Hyrule, most of which can be opened simply by walking inside and interacting with a panel. However, a select few force Link to solve a specific puzzle or complete a short quest first.

The most confusing of those comes from the Sahasra Slope Skyview Tower. Link will have to complete a mission to gain access to the tower, but the quest-giver deliberately misleads players. It's a funny moment, but one that may leave players frustrated. If you don't feel like knocking your head against the wall, here's what you need to know.
How to unlock the Sahasra Slope Skyview Tower

Read more
Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom: how to trade Poes and all Bargainer’s Statue locations
Poes sit near a waterfall in The Legend of Zelda: tears of the Kingdom.

Despite taking place on the same map, The Legend of Zelda: Tears of Kingdom isn't just a direct copy-and-paste of Breath of the Wild. It brings a lot of new content to the formula, from mechanics like Zonai batteries to iconic enemies like Gleooks. It even brings back some notable Zelda staples that were suspiciously absent from its predecessor. Chief among them? Poes.

Poes are one of the Zelda series' most iconic enemies. These ghosts have appeared in most major Zelda games following A Link to the Past, so it was strange that we never saw them in Breath of the Wild. They make their grand return in Tears of the Kingdom, but they're not the ghostly enemies you remember from previous games. Rather, they're a resource that can be used to buy special items. Here's everything you need to know about Poes, including where to trade them.
What are Poes in Tears of the Kingdom?
When you first dive into Hyrule's underground area, you'll probably notice tons of blue-and-white wisps scattered around the surface in patches. Those wisps are Tears of the Kingdom's version of Poes. Yes, the classic enemy is now a simple item that you can collect.

Read more